2019 National College Baseball Hall of Fame

The Hall of Fame class is chosen by more than 200 voters from coast to coast. Voters include retired and active coaches, media members, umpires, members of the Society for American Baseball Research collegiate committee and previous inductees. One inductee is selected by the Black College Legends and Pioneers Committee, which was formed to honor pioneering and outstanding African-American players and coaches throughout college baseball whose careers began prior to 1975.


Dave Chalk, Texas, 1969-72 (Third baseman/Outfielder) - He was first-team All-American in 1971 and 1972, a four-time All-Southwest Conference selection and named to the ’72 College World Series All-Tournament Team. Chalk played his entire career in the wood-bat era, finishing with a career batting average of .362, a school record at the time. He posted a career slugging percentage of .569, hit a career-best .405 in 1971, led his teams to four consecutive SWC championships and three CWS berths. He was drafted in the first round by the California Angels in 1972 and spent nine years in major leagues with California, Texas, Oakland and Kansas City.

Andre Dawson, Florida A&M, 1973-75 (Outfielder) - He hit .352 as a junior in 1975, earning All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference first-team honors. As a sophomore in 1974, he finished third in NCAA Division II with .41 doubles per game and 10th in slugging percentage. Dawson earned All-SIAC second-team honors in 1974, led his team in hits, doubles, home runs and RBI in 1974 and 1975, led his team in runs scored in 1973 and 1974 and stolen bases in 1974. His FAMU squad collected a huge victory in 1974 against the University of Miami Hurricanes, which finished their season ranked second in the country and participated in the College World Series. He was selected by the Montreal Expos in the 11th round of the 1975 Major League Baseball and was inducted into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, New York, in 2010. 

Wally Hood, Southern California, 1947-48 (Pitcher) - Hood was named first-team All-American in 1948, posted a 21-2 record while leading USC to the 1948 national championship, pitched the opening game of 1948 College World Series at Kalamazoo and threw a four-hitter as USC beat Yale 3-1. He beat Baylor twice in the 1948 Western NCAA championship in Denver. Hood was a unanimous choice for the 1948 All-California Intercollegiate Baseball Association team with a league-best 1.54 ERA, appearing in 10 conference games, throwing 82 innings. 

Mark Kotsay, Cal State Fullerton, 1994-96 (Outfielder/Pitcher) - He was chosen College Player of the Decade for the 1990s by Baseball America magazine. Kotsay won 1995 Golden Spikes Award, 1995 Smith Award, which is given to Division I National Player of the Year; and shared the 1995 National Player of the Year honors from Collegiate Baseball magazine with Todd Helton. He was two-time first-team All-American (‘95 & ‘96), had a career batting average of .404 with 259 hits, 60 doubles, 11 triples, 45 home runs and 216 RBI to go along with 40 stolen bases. He led the 1995 Titans to the national championship in dominant fashion. They won their final 18 games of the season, including an 11-5 win over Southern California in the College World Series final, when he had two home runs, 5 RBI and pitched the final five outs in relief.  Kotsay led the 1995 CWS with a .563 batting average and owns the record for the all-time CWS career batting average (.517) and slugging percent- age (1.103). He was named Most Outstanding Player of 1995 College World Series. 

Billy Wagner, Ferrum College, 1991-93 (Pitcher) He earned first-team All-American, All-Conference, All-State and All-Region in 1993. Wagner compiled a career record of 17-3 with a 1.63 ERA. He holds the Division III career records for strikeouts (327 in 182.1 innings) and fewest hits allowed per nine innings (2.22). He also holds the NCAA single season records for strikeouts per nine innings (19.1 in 1992) and fewest hits allowed per game (1.58 in 1992).


Mike Martin, Florida State, 1980-2019 - He finished his coaching career with a record of 2,029-736-4, the only coach in college baseball history with at least 2,000 wins. Seventeen of his teams advanced to the Super Regionals in 21 years since the format was established. Seventeen of his teams advanced to the College World Series. His teams won at least 40 games and made the NCAA Tournament in all 40 seasons as head coach. Martin was an NJCAA All-American player at Wingate (North Carolina). He starred in center field for the 1965 Seminoles’ College World Series team. He served as an assistant coach at FSU from 1975-1979 under coaches Woody Woodward and Dick Howser.

Lloyd Simmons, Seminole State (Oklahoma), 1976-2001, 2012-16 - He is the winningest coach in junior college baseball history with a 1,804-378 record as the head coach at Seminole (Oklahoma) State College. Simmons led his teams to an unprecedented 13 trips to the NJCAA World Series, where they returned home as runners-up four times. His teams won 16 NJCAA Region II titles and 13 NJCAA District championships. He coached 41 NJCAA All-Americans, and more than 200 of his players signed professional baseball contracts, with 43 of those playing in the major leagues. He served as assistant coach of the USA Team Tour of Japan in 1983 and coach of the USA Olympic Trials in Homestead, Florida, in 1994. He was honored as Coach of the Year by the Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Association eight times in his career, inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame in 1997 and, in 2004, became the first college coach to be inducted in the Oklahoma Baseball Coaches Hall of Fame.


Dennis Poppe, Director of Championships, NCAA, 1987-2013 - He was tournament director for the College World Series from 1987 to 2013. The championship grew into a major national event during his tenure. Poppe served as primary liaison to the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee,the NCAA Baseball Rules Committee, the American Baseball Coaches Association and USA Baseball. The Plaza outside the southwest corner of TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha is named in his honor. 


Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year: Erik Bakich, University of Michigan
John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year: Aaron Schunk, Georgia
Dick Howser Trophy: Adley Rutschman, Oregon State
Brooks Wallace National Shortstop of the Year Award: Grae Kessinger, Ole Miss
National Pitcher of the Year: Ethan Small, Mississippi State
Umpire of the Year: Jon Bible