CBF BAseball awardS

The College Baseball Foundation presents annual awards to the best coach, pitcher, shortstop and two-way player. The 2019 award winners will be honored at the Night of Champions in Baton Rouge in November.

THE Skip bertman National coach of the year award

The CBF started the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year Award in 2013. The award is in honor of Bertman, who won five national championships at Louisiana State University. Bertman grew the LSU fan base from a few hundred to thousands attending each game. Bertman is an ambassador for college baseball.

2019: Erik Bakich - University of Michigan
2018: Jeff Willis, LSU-Eunice
2017: Kevin O'Sullivan, Florida
2016: Tim Scannell, Trinity (Texas) University
2015: Paul Mainieri, LSU
2014: Tim Tadlock, Texas Tech
2013: Mike Dickson, Gloucester County (N.J.) College


Sponsored by Mizuno, the Brooks Wallace Award honors the top shortstop in the nation. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died after a courageous battle with leukemia at the age of 27.

2019 -Grae Kessinger - Ole Miss 
2018: Cadyn Grenier - Oregon State
2017: Logan Warmoth - North Carolina
2016: Sheldon Neuse - Oklahoma
2015: Dansby Swanson - Vanderbilt
2014: Trea Turner - North Carolina State
2013: Alex Bregman - LSU
2012: Zach Vincej - Pepperdine
2011: Brad Miller - Clemson
2010: Jedd Gyorko - West Virginia
2009: Ben Orloff - UC-Irvine
2008: Buster Posey - Florida State
2007: David Price - Vanderbilt
2006: Brad Lincoln - Houston
2005: Alex Gordon - Nebraska
2004: Kurt Suzuki - Cal State Fullerton

Prior to 2009, the award recognized the national player of the year.


The Pitcher of the Year award, college baseball's version of the Cy Young Award, was created in 2009. It’s presented annually to the nation's top collegiate pitcher.

2019 - Ethan Small, Mississippi State
2018: Luke Heimlich - Oregon State
2017: Steven Gingery - Texas Tech
2016: Eric Lauer - Kent State
2015: Carson Fulmer - Vanderbilt
2014: Aaron Nola - LSU
2013: Jonathan Gray - Oklahoma
2012: Mark Appel - Stanford
2011: Trevor Bauer - UCLA
2010: Alex Wimmers - Ohio State
2009: Stephen Strasburg - San Diego State


The Two-Way Player of the Year honors the nation's top combo pitcher-position player. It’s named for John Olerud, who was inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame in 2007. He was a standout pitcher and first baseman at Washington State University from 1987 through 1989.

2019: Aaron Schunk - University of Georgia
2018: Brooks Wilson - Stetson
2017: Brendan McKay - Louisville
2016: Brendan McKay - Louisville
2015: Brendan McKay - Louisville
2014: A.J. Reed - Kentucky
2013: Marco Gonzales - Gonzaga
2012: Brian Johnson - Florida
2011: Danny Hultzen - Virginia
2010: Mike McGee - Florida State

National Collegiate Umpire Award

2019 -Jon Bible
2016: Gus Steiner
2015: John Magnusson
2014: Hank Rountree
2013: Dale Williams
2012 Rich Fetchiet
2011: Dick Runchey